BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - EARLY BIRD DISCOUNTED PRICE

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Simplest brake fluid change procedure on an ABS-equipped Jimny 3

More
26 Feb 2022 16:01 #242062 by Bosanek
What would be the simplest and most convenient complete brake fluid change procedure on an ABS-equipped Jimny 3?

The goal is to completely flush out all old brake fluid and put in new brake fluid.

I went to two unrelated mechanics and both flat out refused to do it specifically because it's an "obscure Japanese vehicle with ABS brakes".
They both told me that they had awful experience with other Japanese cars which had ABS brakes. Allegedly impossible to purge the air out.

I have no experience with those issues so I am asking here.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Feb 2022 18:46 #242065 by Scimike
I am surprised by the comments of the two mechanics. Firstly that Japanese cars are any different and the fact they expect air to enter the system during a fluid change. If you blow (ezibleed) or vacuum bleed when exchanging the fluid you don't introduce any air normally. Even the two people "on /off" method should work, but I don't like it as it can cause damage to the master cylinder seal on older vehicles. Even replacing a bleed nipple is unlikely to cause issues if you limit the air entering  the system to the piston in question.
I've changed the fluid in my MR2, it's Japanese with ABS, does that count as obscure? I did it with a vacuum system. ----but Ive not done it to my Jimny. That said I don't expect it to be any different.
I'll read with interest.