BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

CTek charger - eyelet connectors

• Antman84
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
25 Jul 2020 08:49 #225611 by Antman84
CTek charger - eyelet connectors was created by Antman84
Hi all
Complete noob question so sorry in advance.

I have a 2020 Jimny and a CTek trickle charger.

The charger comes with clamps for temporary connecting and ring/eyelet connectors that will permanently fix to the battery and allow for easy connecting to the charger.

I can see how I can affix the positive eyelet of the CTek connector to the positive terminal on the battery. However I need to find a suitable earthing point close to the battery for the negative eyelet.

I have no idea where or how to do this.

Does anyone have any tips?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• CC Baxter
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
25 Jul 2020 09:30 #225617 by CC Baxter
Replied by CC Baxter on topic CTek charger - eyelet connectors
I've got a similar setup on a motorbike. Nothing wrong with the negative terminal on the battery. Chris

• Antman84
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
25 Jul 2020 09:39 #225618 by Antman84
Replied by Antman84 on topic CTek charger - eyelet connectors
Really? That’s good to know.
The only thing I’m concerned about is the CTek tutorial video on YouTube (
) explicitly says “the earth or ground terminal must be connected to a suitable point on the vehicle body work”.

That is to say, not the battery's negative terminal.

As I said I am a noob to both Jimny and have never used a trickle charger in my life and don’t want to stuff it up

• CC Baxter
  • Visitor
  • Visitor