BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

To buy or not to buy - Front Ball Joint/MOT Advisories

• Deverill
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
02 Jan 2020 16:23 - 02 Jan 2020 16:27 #216936 by Deverill
Hi guys!

I'm new to the Jimny but after some research I think it could be the 4x4 for me! I've seen a 2006 model at a garage in my local area for £3500. It has 90,000 on the clock and is MOT'd until July 2020. Looking at it's previous 2 mots it has these advisories:

Repair as soon as possible (minor defects):

Offside Front Track rod end ball joint dust cover damaged or deteriorated, but preventing the ingress of dirt off drop arm (2.1.3 (g) (i))

Monitor and repair if necessary (advisories):
Nearside Front Tyre worn close to legal limit/worn on edge worn slightly outer edge (5.2.3 (e))
Nearside Front Oil leak, but not excessive swivel hub area (8.4.1 (a) (i))
Offside Front Anti-roll bar linkage ball joint has slight play (5.3.4 (a) (i))

Repair as soon as possible (minor defects):
Offside Track rod end ball joint dust cover damaged or deteriorated, but preventing the ingress of dirt off steering box drop arm (2.1.3 (g) (i))

Monitor and repair if necessary (advisories):
Offside Front Anti-roll bar linkage ball joint has slight play very slight (5.3.4 (a) (i))

The Ball joint and the oil leak seem like red flags to me but i'm no expert so just wanted to get some advice on whether to consider it or not and if so what to looking for when viewing

Thanks is advance! :)
Last edit: 02 Jan 2020 16:27 by Deverill.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
02 Jan 2020 16:38 #216938 by facade