BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

front swivel balls/speheres

• mazi
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 May 2012 18:19 #41021 by mazi
front swivel balls/speheres was created by mazi
Hi all, I am new to Jimmnys.
I have just bought a 51 plate with 38k on the clock. Took it for an MOT yesterday
and the N/S front swivel ball sphere has oil/grease oozing out. The mot guy said irt should
be easy to do as its just seals and maybe bearings????
Can I buy a repair seal kit or something.
Sorry to sound like a noob but I am not 100% familiar with 4x4 mechanicals and terminology.
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
23 May 2012 19:55 - 23 May 2012 19:56 #41024 by supergaz
Last edit: 23 May 2012 19:56 by supergaz.

• mazi
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 May 2012 20:49 #41029 by mazi
Replied by mazi on topic Re: front swivel balls/speheres
I have movement on my N/S wheel, is it best practice to do both sides or should I do the one with the wobbly wheel and leaky oil/grease??
Also I think I have now established that I need to do the kingpin bearings, should I do the seals at the same time?
oh and why do I need to enter a stupid code every time I post???????
first time ive seen that on a motoring forum

• Sam_
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
23 May 2012 20:52 #41030 by Sam_
Replied by Sam_ on topic Re: front swivel balls/speheres
Not sure about the code thing, but the seal its self will probably be ok.