BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Is it time for a cam belt change

• Topper
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
26 Oct 2011 09:42 #24510 by Topper
Is it time for a cam belt change was created by Topper
Hi
I have been told that the cam belt on my 2004 jimny O2 is due for a change at 6 years..so its due now with 34,000 miles on the clock,

Is it a big job?...easy DIY ?..im no mechanic

Topper

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Oct 2011 11:37 #24522 by mlines
Only the G13BB engines have cam belts. I see yours looks like a Spanish Soft-top, therefore there is a chance it has a G13BB engine in it, all other models changed to M13AA engines in 2001. Its worth a check of which engine you have first.

You have to take the front covers/belts/pulleys off the engine, so it includes removing the radiator etc. You also need to align the timing marks properly when you re-assemble.

Perhaps a touch ambitious if you have no experience.

Martin

Martin

2003 M13 early KAP build.
3" Trailmaster lift with 1.5 Spacers on front
Customised winch bumper and roll cage
235/85R16 Maxxis Bighorns on 16" Rims, 4:1 Rocklobster, Rear ARB locker and on-board air
Corrected arms all-round, rear disks, Recaro seats and harnesses

• grumpy22
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
26 Oct 2011 15:09 #24543 by grumpy22
Replied by grumpy22 on topic Re: Is it time for a cam belt change
I'm going to be doing mine in the next few weeks. I'm fairly competent but due to the amount of faff would gladly out source the job

• happypig
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
27 Oct 2011 07:11 #24575 by happypig