BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Front wheel bearing leaking gunk

More
17 Apr 2022 16:10 #242943 by Sirjamesrusty
Hello - while I was examining how hard my Antirollbar drop links were going to be to remove with a spanner I also noticed a lot of oil and gunk around the ball joint on the right front wheel - I then started reading up on KingPin bearing failure etc - does this photo look like something needs replacing - how much does something like this cost and is it best to do both wheels at the same time ?? It wasn’t flagged up in my recent MOT fail. 

Thanks 

I'm starting my Jimny experience as a complete novice on a 2008 Jimny VVTS...
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Apr 2022 16:40 - 17 Apr 2022 16:52 #242944 by Scimike
Your swivel seal is shot, that's probably letting the grease escape from the swivel, especially if it's letting in water. You may have a small amount of axle oil escaping, but I've seen far worse. So it's probably not showing as an MOT issue at the moment, but it's also likely that the kingpin bearings are rusty.
Its a leave it be situation until it fails the MOT or you get steering wobble, or fix it now because you want. I would expect it will require swivel seal, axle seal and the bearings.

Cost wise the full kit of parts is about £50 per side, and two hours of your time if you've never changed one before. Easy enough job and good YouTube video on how to do the job.