BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Jimny prop shaft refurbishment

More
12 Sep 2020 17:12 - 12 Sep 2020 17:13 #228111 by Reason2doubt
Hi all,

I'm thinking about refurbing these props. To me, they seem OK... but not being an expert I was wondering if anyone can see anything blatantly obvious that could be wrong with them? Or, perhaps, things I should check?

All the various joints seem to move freely and the rubber boots seem to not have any holes or cracks. They also slide in and out OK, no rust on the inside.

Otherwise my plan was to clean them up, lick of paint and then find some new bolts to connect them up (if anyone knows the size of them, that would also be appreciated!).
Attachments:
Last edit: 12 Sep 2020 17:13 by Reason2doubt.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• TillymintDLG
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
13 Sep 2020 05:01 #228125 by TillymintDLG
Replied by TillymintDLG on topic Jimny prop shaft refurbishment
Seeing as you have done the hard bit getting the props off, I would be inclined to fit new spiders anyway..... It's another worry off the 'Worry bucket list' isn't it R2D?

More
13 Sep 2020 06:57 - 13 Sep 2020 07:10 #228127 by Reason2doubt

TillymintDLG wrote: Seeing as you have done the hard bit getting the props off, I would be inclined to fit new spiders anyway..... It's another worry off the 'Worry bucket list' isn't it R2D?

These are a spare set I was gifted a while ago. No real worries about the ones which are still on the car, but it’s something to keep occupied with (and learn about). Thanks.
Last edit: 13 Sep 2020 07:10 by Reason2doubt.

More
13 Sep 2020 07:37 #228130 by Roger Fairclough