BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Clutch Pedal High bite.

• tsteph8724
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
12 Mar 2019 21:18 #204499 by tsteph8724
Clutch Pedal High bite. was created by tsteph8724
Good evening,

I have recently purchased a 2007 reg Jimny in immaculate condition with only 30k miles. However the clutch only starts to bite near the end of the release on the pedal. I have had the car into a Suzuki dealership and they have told me that the clutch is heavy and heavily worn however I have had no experience of slipping. I was just wondering if anyone else has had a similar issue and if it is in fact the clutch that needs replacing.

Kind Regards,

Tom.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Mar 2019 02:28 #204504 by Max Headroom
A BigJimny welcome to the forum and greetings from the Cotswold Hills.

Tom I had the exact same issue as you. First of all don't panic if its a clutch change, it shouldn't be a hugely expensive job.
30k doesn't seem many miles though. Is that mileage genuine?
My Jimny has done 75k but I have absolutely no idea if this was still on its original clutch or not - perhaps someone else here might comment on clutch wear rates.

I eventually did perceive some clutch slippage but it wasn't journey threatening.
Referring back to my old SAAB forums I asked around in there where best to go and Mr. Clutch seemed to be by far the most cost effective place to go - unfortunately the nearest one to me was in either Swindon or Oxford - I chose Swindon, as Oxford traffic is appalling at the best of times. But there may be a Mr Clutch centre near you.