BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

Replacement engine

• RachP
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
27 Sep 2022 15:03 #245157 by RachP
Replacement engine was created by RachP
Hi all, 

I have no experience with Jimmy’s (as will become clear). 

We recently bought a 2000 JLX Jimny that needs a new engine (G13BB). I’m looking for a reconditioned engine and not had a lot of luck via breakers sites.
I’ve found one from a 2008 model (M13BB).  Can that be fitted into ours?
Or, can anyone point me to a reliable Jimny engine dealer?

Thanks in advance,

Rach

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Lambert
    Registered
  • The quickest Jimny in Harrogate...(that I own)
More
27 Sep 2022 17:52 #245158 by Lambert
Replied by Lambert on topic Replacement engine
Welcome to the forum. The swapping of a g13bb with the m13a is not a simple one. Swapping between a g13 and the g16 out of the Liana is a definite option as they are the same long block just different displacement. The big one though is that all g series engines are getting quite rare now because so many were scrapped because the bodies rusted.

Temeraire (2018 quasar grey automatic)