BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - EARLY BIRD DISCOUNTED PRICE

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

Locking hub issue

• Skudd
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
02 Jul 2020 21:05 #224413 by Skudd
Locking hub issue was created by Skudd
Hi all, I'm new to jimnys and the forum.

I am having an issue with vacuum locking hubs and I'm in need of some advice, after alot of googling I can see that vacuum locking hubs are a very well discussed subject but I've read alot of it but I'm struggling to find an answer to my problem.

I have acquired a 2008 jimny that I got as an mot failure with the intention to sell on, after repairing the rust that failed the mot I turned to the none working 4wd.
This jimny has spent its whole life on the road so the electronic selector was sized solid so after a strip, clean and reassable it's good as new. I replaced the rotten vacuum pipes with some silicone hoses but the problem I'm having now is the hubs don't lock, the 4wd light is working as it should ie staying on solid but if I pull the pipe off the hub it flashes indicating a leak.
If I take the hubs off and put them in the locked position and put them back on they will stay locked in but when selecting 2wd only one hub unlocks and they will not lock again.