BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for general chat about the Jimny. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Suppliers/Dealers or anyone selling with a commercial view in mind CANNOT post here unless responding to a specific request of a member in a "wanted" post.

Suppliers include people "breaking for spares" on a regular basis, when purchasing spares members should ask a supplier what they contribute to the running of the forum particularly if contacted by a Private Message

Suppliers or Members who have contributed to the forum can be identifed by the
logo.

Engine oil leak and hole in flywheel bell housing

• apayne
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
07 Apr 2018 19:43 #191418 by apayne
Hi all, I'm very new to this Jimny community so please bare with me (3 days exactly!) and seem to have already stumbled across a couple of problems sadly. I purchased a 2001 Jimny with 78k on the clock this week from a car garage near me. When I got it home I looked underneath the car briefly and thought I spotted a bit of wet oil on the underside.

I jacked up the car to look closer and have come across two problems: a small hole in the flywheel bell-housing and an oil leak from somewhere else (I know that there isn't oil in the flywheel section so it's not leaking from there).

Firstly, is the hole in the bell-housing a problem and what's the best way to go about fixing this, do I get it welded or will it be fine left as it is? I have been advised by a friend who's a mechanic that it should be fine if left as it is even if going through puddles.