BigJimnyMeet (North) 2024 (12 Jan 2024)

BigJimnyMeet 2024

14th July 2024
Parkwood Nr. Leeds

Booking now open - Discount for additional vehicles

Click HERE for details

× A place for more technical discussions. Please make sure you post in the correct section on the site, this way it keeps the site tidy AND ensures you get a more relevant answer.

Jimny 1999, SOHC, G13BB engine. OBDI

• Owl
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
08 Jan 2019 12:24 #200167 by Owl
Im a newbie , g'day to everybody. i got given a Jimny! i want to reco it and use it on and off road. It may need a new engine but are about to attempt diagnostics.

check engine light ON, came on on the drive home.
4WD light flashes when 4WD engaged. Prob indicates a fault in the engagement somewhere?
A/C not working, no response from switch on dash.
To disengage 4WD back to 2H , I have to reverse the vehicle and then the lever will disengage to move to 2H..

Starts easy and goes. gearbox and drive-train sound quiet. Has a steering wobble at about 70kms p/hr.
has oil leaks , gearbox and transfer are well oily on outside, there are oil leaks. . Some prob came from rocker cover area but im sure thats not the full story on oil leakage.

First question, On startup the engine has a lot white appearance exhaust smoke, looks whiteish to me, smells of oil but not totally sure of smell. I did a chemical radiator test for water leak from head gasket and block and the test result was negative. no blown head gasket.

The smoke is a little intermittent but is in the warm up period prob the open loop time. Once the engine is warmed the smoke emissions are not noticeable. i have hammered the accelerator (on warm engine) and that produced a heavy amount of smoke from exhaust. Strangely it doesnt smoke all the time. I suspect this engine is dusted and /or valve guides are badly worn? uses oil but i dont know how much as ive only had it a few days. Unregistered as well.